About Us

The Archaeological Survey of India (ASI), under the Ministry of Culture, is a premier organization for the archaeological researches and protection of the cultural heritage of the nation. Maintenance of ancient monuments and archaeological sites and remains of national importance is the prime concern of the ASI. Besides it regulate all archaeological activities in the country as per the provisions of the Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Sites and Remains Act, 1958. It also regulates Antiquities and Art Treasure Act, 1972.

For the maintenance of ancient monuments and archaeological sites and remains of national importance the entire country is divided into 24 Circles. The organization has a large work force of trained archaeologists, conservators, epigraphists, architects and scientists for conducting archaeological research projects through its Circles, Museums, Excavation Branches, Prehistory Branch, Epigraphy Branches, Science Branch, Horticulture Branch, Building Survey Project, Temple Survey Projects and Underwater Archaeology Wing.

About Dehradun Circle

asidehraduncircle.in :: asi_dharohar.jpg The Dehradun Circle of the Archaeological Survey of India with its head office at 4 Rest camp, Tyagi Road, Dehradun was established on 16th June 2003, after bifurcation from Agra Circle on creation of new state with a mandate of better maintenance of protected monuments and further researches in archaeological disciplines in the region. There are 42 protected monuments/sites of national importance across the thirteen districts of the state including temples, fortress, excavated sites, rock inscriptions, water structures, cave and cemetery. Being considered as Dev Bhumi (Land of Gods) majority of the monuments in the state are temple sites. Among the 42 protected monuments, 30 are temple sites of which 24 are still under worship. Generally these monuments are made of local stone masonry. However, occasionally bricks, wood and metal sheets have also been used in construction.

There are four excavated sites under the protection of circle i.e. Kashipur (Udhamsingnager), Jagatgram, Virbhadra(Dehradun) and Purola (Uttarkashi). The most important monument under the jurisdiction of the circle is Rock Edict of the King Ashoka at Kalsi (Dehradun) which is the only one of its kind in the entire central Himalayan region. After creation of circle in 2003, it has taken up conservations of the protected monuments effectively which were earlier not attended with priority. As a result, majority of the monuments are now in good state of preservation.

To facilitate the visitors wherever possible, basic amenities i.e. drinking water, toilets, protection notice boards culture notice boards and signage have been provided. In addition, circle has also carried out archaeological exploration and scientific clearance of buried archaeological remains at some important sites. .


Dehradun circle has the responsibility to maintain and conserve 42 monuments and sites declared as of National importance as per Ancient Monuments & Archaeological sites & Remains Act 1958.

The circle is responsible to carry out multifarious archaeological activities in the State of Uttarakhand. The circle undertakes village to village survey, explorations, conservation, preservation, management and general upkeep of centrally protected monuments.

To have proper control of multifarious activities of archaeological and proper management of centrally protected monuments, work is divided administratively into four (4) Sub circles for carrying out conservation, preservation & management activities. These sub circles are headed by senior Conservation Assistant / Conservation Assistant Grade-II /foreman under the direct supervision of Superintending Archaeologist. The sub circles are as below:-

  • Dehradun Sub circle
  • Gopeshwar Sub circle
  • Almora Sub circle
  • Kashipur Sub circle

1. Dehradun Sub circle :

Jurisdiction Dehradun & Uttarkashi Districts
No. of Monuments Dehradun: 05+01(Rishikesh)
  Uttarkashi: 01
Name of Sub Circle incharge, Address & Contact details Mudassar Ali
Conservation Assistant,
Kalinga Monument, Sahastradhara Road,
Ph:0135 - 2780965

2. Gopeshwar Sub Circle :

Jurisdiction Chamoli & Haridwar Districts
No. of Monuments Chamoli: 06
  Haridwar: 01
Name of Sub Circle incharge, Address and contact details

Sh Ajay Singh Bagri,

Junior Conservation Assistant

Rudranath Temple Campus,
Ph:01372 - 252343

3. Almora Sub Circle Jageshwar :

Jurisdiction Almora, Bageshwar, Champawat & Pithorgarh Districts
No. of Monuments Almora: 18
  Bageshwar: 02
  Champawat: 03
  Pithorgarh: 02
Name of Sub Circle incharge, Address and contact details Shri Saurabh Rautela,
Conservation Assistant,
Ph:05962- 233230

4. Kashipur Sub Circle :

Jurisdiction Nainital & Udham Singh Nagar Districts
No. of Monuments Nainital: 02
  Udham Singh Nagar: 01
Name of Sub Circle incharge, Address and contact details Sh.Suresh Chand Sharma,
Jr.Conservation Assistant,